Reba McEntire, Taylor Swift, Garth Brooks Receiving Special Honors From ACM

Reba McEntire, Taylor Swift, Garth Brooks and Larry Gatlin & the Gatlin Brothers have been chosen for special honors from the Academy of Country Music. McEntire is receiving the Career Achievement Award for those who have advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music through their work during the past calendar year. Swift is the recipient of the Jim Reeves International Award for her contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world. Brooks and the Gatlins were selected to receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award. Additionally, Tom T. Hall and the late Hank Cochran are this year’s recipients of the Poet’s Award in recognition of their achievements as songwriters. Artist manager John Dorris has been tapped for the Mae Boren Axton Award in recognition of his years of service to the ACM. Country Strong, the film starring Gwyneth Paltrow and Tim McGraw, is being honored with the Tex Ritter Award, an award given to films which prominently feature country music. This year’s ACM Awards show takes place Sunday (April 3) at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. The special awards, announced Tuesday (March 29), will not be presented during the CBS telecast. Those trophies, along with several musician and industry awards, will be formally presented at the ACM Honors ceremony taking place later this year in Nashville.