Alan Jackson, Garth Brooks Nominated for Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame

Alan Jackson, Garth Brooks, Larry Gatlin, Amy Grant and the late Townes Van Zandt are the 2011 nominees for induction into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame in the songwriter/artist category. One songwriter/artist and two songwriters will be inducted during ceremonies in Nashville on Oct. 16. This year’s songwriter nominees are John Bettis (“Slow Hand”), the late Robert Byrne (“Two Dozen Roses”), J.J. Cale (“Cocaine”), Jan Crutchfield (“Statue of a Fool”), Mark James (“Always on My Mind”), Dan Penn (“The Dark End of the Street”), Gretchen Peters (“Independence Day” ), Thom Schuyler (“16th Avenue”), Allen Shamblin (“The House That Built Me” ) and John Scott Sherrill (“Would You Go With Me” ). Brooks was inducted into the national Songwriters Hall of Fame during an event last week in New York City.