ACM Songwriter Nominations Go to Peach Pickers, Two Others

Musician and Industry Nominees Also Announced Thursday

The Peach Pickers — the songwriting collective of Rhett Akins, Dallas Davidson and Ben Hayslip — are among the songwriter of the year nominees announced Thursday (Jan. 26) by the Academy of Country Music. In addition to their individual nominations, the field also includes Luke Laird and David Lee Murphy.

Akins, Davidson, Hayslip and Luke Bryan co-wrote Bryan’s latest No. 1 single, “I Don’t Want This Night to End.” Akins’ recent credits also include Blake Shelton’s “Honey Bee,” Rodney Atkins“Take a Back Road” and Justin Moore’s “Bait a Hook.” Davidson’s catalog includes Shelton’s “All About Tonight,” Moore’s “If Heaven Wasn’t So Far Away,” Bryan’s “Country Girl (Shake It for Me),” Josh Turner’s “All Over Me” and Lady Antebellum’s “Just a Kiss” and “We Owned the Night.” In addition to “All About Tonight” and “All Over Me,” Hayslip also co-wrote Atkins’ “Farmer’s Daughter” and Joe Nichols“Gimmie That Girl” and “The Shape I’m In.”

Luke Laird’s catalog includes “Take a Back Road,” Sara Evans“A Little Bit Stronger” and Eric Church’s “Drink in My Hand.”

The 47th annual ACM Awards will take place April 1 in Las Vegas, but the organization’s awards for songwriter, musician and other industry categories will be announced this fall during a special ceremony in Nashville.

Here’s a list of the nominees:

Mark Bright
Buddy Cannon
Nathan Chapman
Jay Joyce
Frank Liddell

Audio Engineer
Jeff Balding
Derek Bason
John Kelton
Mills Logan
Justin Niebank

Mike Brignardello
Kevin “Swine” Grantt
Mark Hill
Michael Rhodes
Jimmy Lee Sloas

Matt Chamberlain
Chad Cromwell
Shannon Forrest
Chris McHugh
Greg Morrow

Fiddle Player
Glen Duncan
Stuart Duncan
Larry Franklin
Joe Spivey
Jonathan Yudkin

J.T. Corenflos
Kenny Greenberg
Jay Joyce
Brent Mason
Adam Shoenfeld

Piano/Keyboard Player
Tony Harrell
John Hobbs
John Jarvis
Charlie Judge
Michael Rojas

Specialty Instrument Player
Eric Darken
Aubrey Haynie
Ilya Toshinsky
John Willis
Jonathan Yudkin

Steel Guitarist
Paul Franklin
Mike Johnson
Greg Leisz
Russ Pahl
Scotty Sanders

Agua Caliente Casino (Rancho Mirage, Calif.)
IP Casino (Biloxi, Miss.)
Island Resort Casino (Harris, Mich.)
Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino (Las Vegas)
WinStar World Casino (Thackerville, Okla.)

Billy Bob’s Texas (Fort Worth, Texas)
Buck Owens’ Crystal Palace (Bakersfield, Calif.)
Grizzly Rose (Denver)
Toby Keith’s I Love This Bar & Grill (Minneapolis)
Wormy Dog (Oklahoma City)

BOK Center (Tulsa, Okla.)
Bridgestone Arena (Nashville)
First Midwest Bank Amphitheatre (Chicago)
Jiffy Lube Live (Bristow, Va.)
Sprint Center (Kansas City)

Don Romeo Talent Buyer
Ethan Hirsch (Wilson Events)
Jimmy Jay (Jayson Promotions)
R.J. Kaltenbach (Klein’s Attractions)
Gary Osier (Gary Osier Presents)
Huston Powell (C3 Presents)

Ben Ferrell (Varnell Enterprises)
Brad Garrett (Police Productions)
Brian O’Connell (Live Nation)
Glenn Smith (Glenn & Linda Present)
Ed Warm (Joe’s Bar)