CMA Award Nominees Revealed in New York City

Aldean, Chesney, Paisley, Shelton, Swift Are Candidates for Entertainer of the Year

Updated: Wednesday, Sept. 5, 11 a.m. ET

Jason Aldean, Kenny Chesney, Brad Paisley, Blake Shelton and Taylor Swift are nominated for entertainer of the year at the 46th annual CMA Awards. Aldean and Luke Bryan announced the nominees in the awards show’s five categories Wednesday (Sept. 5) in New York City during the 8:30 a.m. ET segment of ABC’s Good Morning America.

After making the initial announcement at the ABC studios in Times Square, Aldean and Bryan went to the nearby the B.B. King Blues Club and Grill to reveal the nominees in the seven remaining artist categories.

Eric Church grabbed five nominations to lead the pack at this year’s awards show. He’s up for male vocalist, album of the year (Chief) and single, song and music video of the year for “Springsteen.”

Shelton and Lambert scored four nominations each, including song of the year for co-writing her hit, “Over You.” Shelton is also nominated for male vocalist and single of the year (“God Gave Me You” ). Lambert is also up for female vocalist, album of the year (Four the Record) and music video (“Over You”).

Others with nominations in multiple categories include Aldean, Chesney, Swift, Dierks Bentley and Little Big Town, but two categories will likely be the subject of much discussion among fans.

Kelly Clarkson received her first nomination in the female vocalist category, a field that includes Swift, Miranda Lambert, Martina McBride and Carrie Underwood. Clarkson was nominated for musical event of the year in 2007 for her collaboration with Reba McEntire on “Because of You” and won the musical event and single of the year prizes in 2011 for her work with Aldean on “Don’t You Wanna Stay.”

Rascal Flatts are absent from the vocal group of the year nominees. The trio won the award six consecutive times beginning in 2003. This year’s nominees are the Eli Young Band, Lady Antebellum, Little Big Town, The Band Perry and the Zac Brown Band.

The 46th annual CMA Awards, hosted by Brad Paisley and Carrie Underwood, airs Nov. 1 on ABC.

View photos from the announcement.

Here’s a complete list of the artist and musician nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean Kenny Chesney Brad Paisley Blake Shelton Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan Eric Church Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist
Kelly Clarkson Miranda Lambert Martina McBride Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group
Eli Young Band Lady Antebellum Little Big Town The Band Perry Zac Brown Band

Vocal Duo
Big & Rich Love and Theft Sugarland the Civil Wars Thompson Square

New Artist
Lee Brice Brantley Gilbert Hunter Hayes Love and Theft
Thompson Square

Album of the Year
Eric Church
Producer: Jay Joyce

Four the Record
Miranda Lambert
Producers: Frank Liddell, Chuck Ainlay, Glenn Worf

Dierks Bentley Producers: Brett Beavers, Luke Wooten, Jon Randall Stewart

Own the Night
Lady Antebellum
Producers: Paul Worley, Lady Antebellum

Tailgates & Tanlines
Luke Bryan
Producers: Jeff Stevens, Mark Bright

Single of the Year
“Dirt Road Anthem” Jason Aldean
Producer: Michael Knox

“God Gave Me You” Blake Shelton
Producer: Scott Hendricks

“Home” Dierks Bentley
Producers: Brett Beavers, Luke Wooten

“Pontoon” Little Big Town
Producer: Jay Joyce

“Springsteen” Eric Church
Producer: Jay Joyce

Song of the Year
“Even if It Breaks Your Heart” Songwriters: Will Hoge, Eric Paslay

“God Gave Me You”
Songwriter: Dave Barnes

Songwriters: Dan Wilson, Brett Beavers, Dierks Bentley

“Over You” Songwriters: Miranda Lambert, Blake Shelton

Songwriters: Eric Church, Ryan Tyndell, Jeff Hyde

Musical Event
“Dixie Highway”
Alan Jackson featuring Zac Brown

“Feel Like a Rock Star” Kenny Chesney (duet with Tim McGraw)

“Roll Me Up and Smoke Me When I Die”
Willie Nelson with Snoop Dogg, Kris Kristofferson, Jamey Johnson

“Safe & Sound” Taylor Swift (featuring the Civil Wars)

“Stuck on You”
Lionel Richie (with Darius Rucker)

Music Video
“Come Over” Kenny Chesney
Director: Shaun Silva

“Over You” Miranda Lambert
Director: Trey Fanjoy

“Pontoon” Little Big Town
Director: Declan Whitebloom

“Red Solo Cup” Toby Keith Director: Michael Salomon

“Springsteen” Eric Church
Director: Peter Zavadil

Sam Bush (mandolin)
Paul Franklin (steel guitar)
Dann Huff (guitar)
Brent Mason (guitar)
Mac McAnally (guitar)