The Gibson Brothers Lead IBMA Nominations

Alison Krauss & Union Station Also Receive Multiple Nominations

The Gibson Brothers have picked up eight nominations for the band and its individual members for the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) Awards, scheduled for Sept. 26 in Raleigh, N.C.

The nominations were revealed at a press conference at the Loveless Barn in Nashville on Wednesday night (Aug. 14).

The Gibson Brothers are followed by Balsam Range with seven nominations and the Boxcars, Alison Krauss & Union Station and Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out with six nominations each.

The nominees for entertainer of the year are Balsam Range, Blue Highway, Dailey & Vincent, the Gibson Brothers and the Del McCoury Band.

In addition, guitarist-singer Tony Rice and fiddler Paul Warren have been announced as inductees to the International Bluegrass Music Hall of Fame. Meanwhile, recipients of Distinguished Achievement Awards include Keith Case, the East Mountain Boys, Vic Jordan, the McLain Family Band and Charley Pennell

The full list of IBMA nominations is as follows:

Entertainer of the Year
Balsam Range
Blue Highway Dailey & Vincent The Gibson Brothers
The Del McCoury Band

Vocal Group
Balsam Range
Blue Highway
Dailey & Vincent
The Gibson Brothers
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Instrumental Group
Blue Highway
The Boxcars
Sam Bush Band Punch Brothers Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen

Male Vocalist
Jamie Dailey
Russell Moore
Tim O’Brien
Marty Raybon Junior Sisk

Female Vocalist
Dale Ann Bradley Sonya Isaacs
Claire Lynch Amanda Smith
Rhonda Vincent

Emerging Artist
Della Mae
Flatt Lonesome
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
The Spinney Brothers
The Darrell Webb Band

Album of the Year
Dear Sister
Claire Lynch

Hammer Down
The SteelDrivers

The Old School
Peter Rowan

Balsam Range

They Called It Music
The Gibson Brothers

Song of the Year
“Any Old Road (Will Take You There)”
Artist: Balsam Range
Writers: Carl Jackson, Marc Pruett and Jerry Salley

“Gentle on My Mind”
Artist: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
Writer: John Hartford

Artist: Balsam Range
Writer: Milan Miller

“The Story of the Day That I Died”
Artist: Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice
Writer: Ashby Frank

“They Called It Music”
Artist: The Gibson Brothers
Writers: Eric Gibson and Joe Newberry

Gospel Recorded Performance
“Beulah Land”
Marty Raybon

“Home on the River”
The Gibson Brothers

“Row by Row”
Balsam Range

“Say Hello to Heaven”
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
“When He Beckons Me Home”
Darin & Brooke Aldridge

Instrumental Recorded Performance
“By the Waters of the Clinch”
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

“Foggy Mountain Rock”
Tom Adams, Ron Block, J.D. Crowe, Charlie Cushman, Kenny Ingram, Jim Mills, Joe Mullins, Larry Perkins, Craig Smith, Ron Stewart, David Talbot and Tony Trischka

“New Jerusalem”
Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder

“Newton’s Grove”
Audie Blaylock & Redline

Darrell Webb Band

“Pilgrim’s Knob”
Alan Bibey & Wayne Benson

Recorded Event
“Another Night”
Alan Bibey, Wayne Benson and Russell Moore

“Golden Ring”
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out with Sonya Isaacs

“On the Edge of Letting Go”
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen with Tim O’Brien and Rob Ickes

“This Old Guitar and Me”
Grasstowne with Ronnie Bowman

“What’ll I Do”
Terry Baucom with Sam Bush, Jerry Douglas, Wyatt Rice, Steve Bryant and Buddy Melton

Instrumental Performers

J.D. Crowe
Mike Munford
Sammy Shelor
Ron Stewart
Scott Vestal

Barry Bales
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Mark Schatz
Marshall Wilborn

Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Bobby Hicks
Ron Stewart

Mike Auldridge
Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs
Phil Leadbetter

Jim Hurst
Tony Rice
Kenny Smith
Bryan Sutton Josh Williams

Wayne Benson
Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull Adam Steffey

2013 Hall of Fame Inductees
Tony Rice
Paul Warren

Special Award Nominations

Bluegrass Broadcaster
Joe Mullins, WBZI (Xenia, Ohio)
Ronnie Reno, Reno’s Old Time Music Festival, BlueHighways TV and RFD
Wayne Rice, KSON (San Diego)
David Smith, North Dakota’s Prairie Public Radio
Tim White, Song of the Mountains, PBS

Bluegrass Event
2013 Bluegrass First Class (Asheville, N.C.)
2012 Father’s Day Festival (Grass Valley, Calif.)
2012 Huck Finn Jubilee (Ontario, Calif.)
2012 Jenny Brook Bluegrass Festival (Tunbridge, Vt.)
Bill Monroe Bean Blossom Bluegrass Festival (Bean Blossom, Ind.)

Best Graphic Design for a Recorded Project
Designers: Dak Alley, Carl Jackson and Jimmy Metts
Grace Notes, Carl Jackson

Designers: Erick Anderson and Sue Meyer
Music to My Ears, Ricky Skaggs

Designer: Pharis Romero
Doctor’s Orders, Don Rigsby

Designer: Native & Fine Records
In Good Company, Bill Evans

Designers: Tom Rozum, Catherine Manning and Dave Weiland
Chicken on a Rocketship, Chad Manning

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project
Writer: Tom Adams
Foggy Mountain Special, Tom Adams, Ron Block, J.D. Crowe, Charlie Cushman, Kenny Ingram, Jim Mills, Joe Mullins, Larry Perkins, Craig Smith, Ron Stewart, David Talbot and Tony Trischka

Writer: Fred Bartenstein
They’re Playing My Song, Joe Mullins & the Radio Ramblers

Writer: Jamie Lynn Brinkman
God Didn’t Choose Sides, Various Artists

Writer: Carl Jackson
Grace Notes, Carl Jackson

Writer: Don Rigsby
Doctor’s Orders, Don Rigsby

Bluegrass Print/Media Person
Fred Bartenstein, Bluegrass Bluesman: A Memoir by Uncle Josh Graves (book)

Derek Halsey, Herald-Dispatch (newspaper) (Huntington, W.Va.) and Bluegrass Unlimited (magazine)

Chris Jones, Bluegrass Today (website)

Ted Lehman, Ted Lehmann’s Bluegrass, Books & Brainstorms (blog)

Amy Reitnouer, The Bluegrass Situation (website)

Bluegrass Songwriter
Louisa Branscomb
Paula Breedlove
Mark “Brink” Brinkman
Eric Gibson
Donna Ulisse

2013 Distinguished Achievement Award
Keith Case
The East Mountain Boys
Vic Jordan
The McLain Family Band
Charley Pennell