Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Adds Four

Randy Owen, Jeffrey Steele, Will Jennings and Layng Martine Jr. have been announced as the newest members of the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. As primary songwriter of the band Alabama, Owen is responsible for many of the band’s No. 1 hits, including “Mountain Music,” “Lady Down on Love” and “Feels So Right.” He will be inducted in the songwriter/artist category. Steele has written No. 1 songs such as Rascal Flatts“What Hurts the Most” and Tim McGraw’s “The Cowboy in Me” and enters in the songwriter category. Jennings’ many successes include the Oscar-winning Celine Dion hit “My Heart Will Go On,” and he also enters in the songwriter category. Martine Jr. will be included with the title of veteran songwriter for penning such hits as “I Don’t Want to Be a One Night Stand,” Reba McEntire’s first single, and “Way Down,” the last single released by Elvis Presley during his lifetime. The four new members will be formally inducted during a ceremony in October.