Kacey Musgraves, Taylor Swift Top CMA Awards Nominees List for 2013

Nominations Announced Tuesday Morning in New York City

Newcomer Kacey Musgraves and Taylor Swift grabbed six nominations each to lead the field at the 2013 CMA Awards. Miranda Lambert and Blake Shelton were close behind with five nominations each when the names were revealed Tuesday morning (Sept. 10) in New York City.

Florida Georgia Line and Keith Urban each received four nominations, and three nominations went to Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, Little Big Town, Tim McGraw and Carrie Underwood. Eric Church, Kelly Clarkson and Lady Antebellum claimed two nominations each.

First-time CMA nominee Musgraves is up for female vocalist and new artist of the year. She also has an album of the year nomination for Same Trailer Different Park and single of the year for “Merry Go ’Round,” which she produced with Luke Laird and Shane McAnally. The Texas native has two songs nominated for song of the year — her own “Merry Go ’Round” (written with Josh Osborne and McAnally) and Lambert’s “Mama’s Broken Heart” (written with Brandy Clark and McAnally).

In addition to entertainer of the year and female vocalist, Swift is nominated for album of the year for Red. She and Urban are also nominated for their collaboration on Tim McGraw’s “Highway Don’t Care,” which is up for single, musical event and video of the year.

Shelton’s five nominations include entertainer of the year, male vocalist and album of the year for Based on a True Story. His “Boys ’Round Here,” featuring Lambert, Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley of the Pistol Annies, is nominated for musical event and music video.

Lambert also received nods as female vocalist, as well as music video and single of the year for “Mama’s Broken Heart.”

Sheryl Crow and Florida Georgia Line announced the final nominees in five of the 12 categories on ABC’s Good Morning America in New York City before heading to the Best Buy Theater for a press conference to reveal the remaining seven categories.

The 47th annual CMA Awards takes place Nov. 6 at Nashville’s Bridgestone Arena. Brad Paisley and Underwood will host the ABC broadcast for a sixth time.

Here’s a complete list of this year’s nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean Luke Bryan Blake Shelton George Strait Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist
Jason Aldean
Luke Bryan
Eric Church Blake Shelton
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist
Kelly Clarkson Miranda Lambert Kacey Musgraves Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood

Vocal Duo
Big & Rich Florida Georgia Line Love and Theft Sugarland The Civil Wars Thompson Square

New Artist
Lee Brice Brett Eldredge Florida Georgia Line
Kip Moore Kacey Musgraves

Album of the Year
Based on a True Story
Blake Shelton
Producer: Scott Hendricks

Blown Away
Carrie Underwood
Producer: Mark Bright

Taylor Swift
Producers: Jeff Bhasker, Scott Borchetta, Nathan Chapman, Dann Huff, Jacknife Lee, Max Martin, Shellback, Taylor Swift, Butch Walker and Dan Wilson

Same Trailer Different Park
Kacey Musgraves
Producers: Luke Laird, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves

Little Big Town Producer: Jay Joyce

Musical Event
“Boys ’Round Here” Blake Shelton (featuring Pistol Annies)

“Cruise” Florida Georgia Line (with Nelly)

“Don’t Rush”
Kelly Clarkson (featuring Vince Gill)

“Highway Don’t Care” Tim McGraw (with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban)

“The Only Way I Know” Jason Aldean with Luke Bryan and Eric Church

Vocal Group
Eli Young Band Lady Antebellum Little Big Town
The Band Perry Zac Brown Band

Single of the Year
“Cruise” Florida Georgia Line
Producer: Joey Moi

“Highway Don’t Care”
Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
Producers: Byron Gallimore and Tim McGraw

“Mama’s Broken Heart”
Miranda Lambert
Producers: Frank Liddell, Glenn Worf and Chuck Ainlay

“Merry Go ’Round”
Kacey Musgraves
Producers: Luke Laird, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves

“Wagon Wheel” Darius Rucker Producer: Frank Rogers

Song of the Year
“I Drive Your Truck” Songwriters: Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington and Jimmy Yeary

“Mama’s Broken Heart”
Songwriters: Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally and Kacey Musgraves

“Merry Go ’Round”
Songwriters: Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osborne and Shane McAnally

“Pontoon” Songwriters: Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird and Barry Dean

“Wagon Wheel”
Songwriters: Bob Dylan and Ketch Secor

Music Video of the Year
“Blown Away” Carrie Underwood
Director: Randee St. Nicholas

“Boys ’Round Here”
Blake Shelton featuring Pistol Annies
Director: Trey Fanjoy

“Downtown” Lady Antebellum
Director: Peter Zavadil

“Highway Don’t Care”
Tim McGraw with Taylor Swift and Keith Urban
Director: Shane Drake

“Mama’s Broken Heart”
Miranda Lambert
Director: Trey Fanjoy

“Tornado” Little Big Town
Director: Shane Drake

Sam Bush (Mandolin)
Paul Franklin (Steel Guitar)
Dann Huff (Guitar)
Brent Mason (Guitar)
Mac McAnally (Guitar)