Taylor Swift Sets Record at NSAI Awards

She Accepts Her Sixth Songwriter/Artist of the Year Award

Taylor Swift made history yet again on Sunday night (Oct. 13) as she was named songwriter/artist of the year for a record sixth time by the Nashville Songwriters Association International. The honor came as part of the annual Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame induction ceremony.

“It’s amazing to be here tonight with the NSAI Awards,” Swift told the audience. “I feel so incredibly lucky to get the songwriter/artist of the year award for the sixth time. It’s crazy to say that.

“I just feel like the songwriters who vote on this award have been so generous in believing in me from early on,” she continued. “I think the first time I won the award, I was definitely a teenager, so to keep on getting it is wonderful, especially in a year where I’ve been so experimental with my music. I really appreciate that they understood what I was trying to do.”

Swift, who also received a special NSAI plaque during the unveiling of her music education center at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum over the weekend, says she’s already hard at work on her next album despite a packed schedule.

“I am working on my fifth album right now, which feels crazy,” she said. “For me, it’s all about figuring out how to say things in a way I’ve never said them, how to make them sound a way I’ve never made them sound before. For me, that’s the main goal.

“And also, I think above all of that is to write great songs. I think it has to be good before it’s anything else, but I’ve never wanted to make the same album twice. I really don’t want to make the same kind of sounds happen two albums in a row because I think people like change. I think people like to hear something fresh and new. And, yes, it’s you, but it’s a new version of you. So I think that’s my main goal.”

Swift’s new album is set for a fall 2014 release although further details have yet to be revealed.

For more, tune in to CMT Hot 20 Countdown this Saturday and Sunday (Oct. 19-20) at 11 a.m. ET/PT.