Doobie Brothers Tribute Album to Feature Brad Paisley, Toby Keith

Sara Evans, Chris Young and Zac Brown Band Also on Board for Upcoming Project

Brad Paisley, Sara Evans, Chris Young, Toby Keith and the Zac Brown Band will be contributing tracks to a new album paying tribute to The Doobie Brothers.

Jerrod Niemann and Love and Theft will also be working with Doobie Brothers founding members Patrick Simmons and Tom Johnston, along with Michael McDonald and John McFee. McDonald, who now concentrates on his solo career, sang lead vocals on hits such as “What a Fool Believes” “Takin’ It to the Streets” and “Minute by Minute.” McFee, a former member of the country band Southern Pacific, has worked with the Doobie Brothers since 1978.

Sony Music Nashville will release the album later this year. A label spokesperson said additional artists will be announced in the months to come.

During the recent Country Radio Seminar in Nashville, Simmons, Johnston and McFee made a surprise appearance to close the show with Paisley, Evans and Young during a brief set that included “Long Train Runnin’,” “China Grove,” “Black Water” and “Listen to the Music.”

The Doobie Brothers’ released their self-titled debut album in 1971 and have sold more than 30 million albums. Best of the Doobies, released in 1976, has sold 11 million copies. Their other hits include “Jesus Is Just All Right,” “Rockin’ Down the Highway”, “Take Me in Your Arms” and “You Belong to Me.” They’ve won seven Grammys.

Still maintaining an active tour schedule, the band taped a CMT Crossroads special with Luke Bryan and made their first appearance on the Grand Ole Opry in 2011.