Jake Owen Set to Host ACM Honors in Nashville

Carrie Underwood, Rascal Flatts, Toby Keith Among the Honorees

Jake Owen will host the eighth annual ACM Honors ceremony recognizing the special honorees and off-camera category winners from the 49th annual Academy of Country Music Awards.

Carrie Underwood and Rascal Flatts are among the artists to be honored during the Sept. 9 event at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium.

Underwood will receive the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award for “unprecedented, unique and outstanding individual achievement in country music.” Rascal Flatts and industry executive Steve Buchanan are this year’s recipients of the Jim Reeves International Award for “outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.”

Additionally, legendary singer-songwriter Merle Haggard will be presented the ACM’s Crystal Milestone Award, and Toby Keith and Ronnie Milsap will receive the Career Achievement Award.

Kris Kristofferson, Dean Dillon and the late Jack Clement and Buck Owens are this year’s recipients of the Poet’s Award, which honors the lifetime achievements of songwriters.

The Studio Recording Awards will go to bassist Michael Rhodes, drummer Shannon Forrest, guitarist Rob McNelley, keyboardist Charlie Judge, multi-instrumentalist Bryan Sutton, steel guitarist Paul Franklin, audio engineer Justin Niebank and producer Dann Huff. Shane McAnally will be presented the songwriter of the year trophy.

Tickets to the ACM Honors presentation go on sale Friday (Aug. 1) at 10 a.m. CT at Ticketmaster.com and the Ryman box office.