2014 Americana Music Awards: The Winners

Jason Isbell Takes Home Awards for Song, Album and Artist of the Year

Jason Isbell was the night’s top winner at the 13th annual Americana Music Awards, held Wednesday night (Sept. 17) at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

The talented singer-songwriter snagged the association’s three premiere awards — song of the year for “Cover Me Up,” album of the year for Southeastern and artist of the year.

Among other award winners and performances, Loretta Lynn, Taj Mahal, Flaco Jimenez, Jimmie Rodgers and Jackson Browne were also honored for lifetime achievements.

The 13th annual Americana Music Awards were filmed and streamed live on NPR.org and will be rebroadcast as a part of the upcoming season of Austin City Limits on PBS.

Here’s a complete list of the winners and honorees:

Artist of the Year
Jason Isbell

Album of the Year
Southeastern, Jason Isbell, produced by Dave Cobb

Song of the Year
“Cover Me Up,” Jason Isbell

Duo or Group of the Year
The Milk Carton Kids

Emerging Artist of the Year
Sturgill Simpson

Instrumentalist of the Year
Buddy Miller

Lifetime Achievement for Songwriting
Loretta Lynn

Lifetime Achievement for Instrumentalist
Flaco Jimenez

Lifetime Achievement for Performance
Taj Mahal

President’s Award
Jimmie Rodgers

Spirit of Americana Award, Free Speech in Music
Jackson Browne

Writer/producer for CMT.com and CMT Edge. He's been to Georgia on a fast train. He wasn't born no yesterday.