CMA Awards Reveal Music Video, Vocal Event Winners

Dierks Bentley, Miranda Lambert, Keith Urban Take Honors

Dierks Bentley’s “Drunk on a Plane” is the winner of this year’s CMA Award for music video, while Miranda Lambert and Keith Urban’s “We Were Us” claimed a victory in the vocal event category. Both awards were revealed during a live broadcast from Nashville on ABC’s Good Morning America on Wednesday (Nov. 5).

This is Bentley’s first CMA trophy since winning the Horizon Award (now re-named best new artist) in 2005, when the awards were presented in New York City. “Drunk on a Plane” is also nominated for single of the year, while Bentley will compete in the male vocalist category. In addition, “I Hold On” (which he co-wrote with Brett James) is nominated for song of the year.

Lambert and Urban have won multiple CMA Awards in their careers and both are nominated for entertainer this year. Urban claimed that trophy in 2005.

“We Were Us” marks Urban’s second consecutive win in the vocal event category. Last year he shared the honor with Tim McGraw and Taylor Swift for “Highway Don’t Care.” He also won in that category for “Start a Band” with Brad Paisley in 2009. This year, Urban is also nominated for male vocalist (which he won in 2004, 2005 and 2006) as well as album (for Fuse). He won the Horizon Award in 2001.

Lambert is nominated for this year’s female vocalist, an award she has won every year since 2010. Her other CMA trophies include 2012 song of the year (“Over You” ), 2010 music video (“The House That Built Me” ) and 2010 album (Revolution).

This year’s CMA Awards performers include Jason Aldean, Bentley, Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Eric Church, Doobie Brothers, Florida Georgia Line, Hunter Hayes, Lady Antebellum, Lambert, Little Big Town, Tim McGraw, Ashley Monroe, Kacey Musgraves, Jennifer Nettles, Brad Paisley, George Strait, The Band Perry, Thomas Rhett , Cole Swindell, Carrie Underwood and Urban, as well as pop stars Ariana Grande and Meghan Trainor.

Presenters include supermodel Lily Aldridge, Lee Brice, Connie Britton, Garth Brooks, Brandy Clark, Dan + Shay, Brett Eldredge, Brantley Gilbert, Lucy Hale, Martina McBride, Kip Moore, Tim Tebow, Steven Tyler and Trisha Yearwood.

The 48th annual CMA Awards will air live from Nashville on ABC.

Here is the full list of the artist nominations for the 2014 CMA Awards.