“Follow Your Arrow” Is CMA’s Song of the Year

Kacey Musgraves, Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally Share Award for Controversial Song

After what had to be a close race, Kacey Musgraves and her co-writers took home one of the night’s biggest honors at the 48th annual CMA Awards , earning song of the year honors for “Follow Your Arrow.” Darius Rucker and NFL player Tim Tebow presented the award to Musgraves, with Rucker declaring himself a member of Team Tebow before announcing the nominees.

Musgraves wrote “Follow Your Arrow” with Brandy Clark and Shane McAnally, both of whom joined her onstage to accept the award. Musgraves sported an Oscar de la Renta gown and one of the evening’s biggest hairstyles, exclaiming, “Do you guys realize what this means for country music?” as she took the stage to accept her trophy.

“Our genre was built on simple, good songs about real life, and that’s what this was. It’s because of the fans and the people who connected with it that spread it and took it farther than I ever thought it could be.”

“Follow Your Arrow” is the third single off Musgraves’ 2013 album Same Trailer Different Park. Despite what some considered to be controversial lyrics, the song reached No. 10 on the Billboard country songs chart. This is her second CMA Award win and ninth nomination.

Clark, who was also nominated for new artist of the year, marks her third nomination and first win, following a song of the year nomination for “Mama’s Broken Heart” in 2013. This was the fifth CMA nomination for McAnally and his first win.

Other nominees for song of the year included “Automatic” (Miranda Lambert, Nicolle Galyon and Natalie Hemby), “Give Me Back My Hometown” (Eric Church and Luke Laird), “I Don’t Dance” (Lee Brice, Rob Hatch, Dallas Davidson) and “I Hold On” (Dierks Bentley and Brett James).

Check out complete coverage of the 48th annual CMA Awards.