CMT Celebrates 2014 Artists of the Year

Five Superstars Recognized for Outstanding Contributions

CMT saluted another spectacular year in country music with its fifth annual Artists of the Year show Tuesday night (Dec. 2) at Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center.

The special honored Miranda Lambert, Luke Bryan, Keith Urban, Florida Georgia Line and Jason Aldean for their outstanding contributions to music in the last year. Comedian Larry the Cable Guy was at the helm of the 90-minute live broadcast.

This year’s show also featured the addition of the Artist of a Lifetime award, which recognized country legend Merle Haggard. Eric Church, Ashley Monroe and T Bone Burnett performed Hag’s classic “Workin’ Man Blues” in his honor.

With friends and family in attendance, each of the honorees was celebrated with musical tributes throughout the evening by industry peers and special guests such as Kenny Chesney, Lady Antebellum, Chris Stapleton, Chris Cornell, Wiz Khalifa and Danica Patrick.

Bryan was forced to cancel his appearance following the sudden death of his brother-in-law in Georgia over Thanksgiving weekend.

For full performances, acceptances, and more on the 2014 CMT Artists of the Year special, visit the Artists of the Year show page and don’t miss an all-new episode of CMT Hot 20 Countdown this Saturday and Sunday at 11 a.m. ET/PT.