Winners: American Country Countdown Awards

Inaugural Awards Show Shines Light on Radio Stars

Florida Georgia Line and Luke Bryan took home multiple honors, but radio was the big star Monday night (Dec. 15) during the very first-ever American Country Countdown Awards.

The show, hosted by radio darlings Florida Georgia Line’s Brian Kelley and Tyler Hubbard, was based on the syndicated radio countdown show, American Country Countdown With Kix Brooks. So the artists who won made sure they thanked Brooks, radio and the fans who still find their music on the airwaves.

Jason Merritt/Getty Images

The Fox network broadcast the two-hour event live from the new Music City Center in Nashville, and while the setup of the show didn’t allow for too many surprises, the winners list included a few artists who aren’t seasoned veterans of the awards show stages.

Here’s a complete list of winners:

Artist of the Year: Jason Aldean

Male Vocalist: Luke Bryan

Female Vocalist: Miranda Lambert

Group/Duo: Florida Georgia Line

Breakthrough Artist: Kip Moore

Collaboration: “This Is How We Roll,” Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan

Album: The Outsiders, Eric Church

Digital Song: “This Is How We Roll,” Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan

Groundbreaker Award: Kenny Chesney

NASH Icon Award: Reba McEntire

Song of the Year: “Beat of the Music,” Brett Eldredge (artist), Eldredge, Ross Copperman, Heather Morgan (songwriters)

Alison makes her living loving country music. She's based in Chicago, but she's always leaving her heart in Nashville.