ACM, CMT Reveal New Artist Semifinalists

Music Fans Will Determine Three Nominees for ACM Awards

The Academy of Country Music and CMT are partnering on fan voting for the ACM Awards category of new artist of the year.

The semifinalists in the new artist of the year category are Dan + Shay, Brett Eldredge, Tyler Farr, Sam Hunt, Kip Moore, Thomas Rhett, Chase Rice and Cole Swindell.

This marks the seventh consecutive year fans will vote to determine the nominees for the newcomer category and is the first voting partnership between the Academy and CMT.

The ACM professional membership voted to determine the eight semifinalists. The final three nominees for the ACM new artist category will be determined via the first round fan vote at and, combined with the ACM professional membership vote. The final three nominees will then compete for the trophy, with a final round of combined fan and ACM professional membership vote to determine the winner.

The winner will be revealed on the live telecast of the 50th annual Academy of Country Music Awards from the AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas, on April 19 on CBS.

The first round of fan voting for new artist of the year will begin at and on Jan. 27 at 1 p.m. ET and will close Feb. 10 at 6 p.m. ET. The final three nominees will compete in the final round of voting for the new artist category at The final round of fan voting begins April 8 and will close on April 19.

As part of the new partnership, CMT will produce two television specials highlighting this year’s nominees for new artist of the year, with the first special featuring all eight semifinalists scheduled to air in conjunction with fan voting. Dates and times will be announced.