Alabama, Loretta Lynn, Luke Bryan, Eric Church Among ACM Special Award Winners

Achievements Will Be Celebrated Sept. 1 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium

Alabama, Loretta Lynn, Luke Bryan and Eric Church top the list of the Academy of Country Music’s special award recipients to be recognized during the ninth annual ACM Honors celebration Sept. 1 at Nashville’s Ryman Auditorium.

The recipients were announced in advance of the 50th ACM Awards show taking place April 19 at AT&T Stadium in Arlington, Texas. They will be honored off camera time constraints prevent them from being acknowledged during the live CBS telecast.

Alabama will be presented the ACM’s Career Achievement Award which honors “an individual artist, duo, group or multiple artist collaboration that has advanced the popularity and acceptance of country music through their endeavors in the entertainment industry in multiple areas.”

Lynn, who celebrated her 50th year in country music in 2014, will receive the Crystal Milestone Award which commemorates “a specific, remarkable achievement.”

Bryan will be the recipient of the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award, an honor “which acknowledges unprecedented, unique and outstanding individual achievement in country music.”

Church has been selected for the Jim Reeves International Award for “outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.” In early 2014, Church took The Outsiders World Tour to Europe for performances in Ireland, Scotland, England, Holland, Germany, Sweden and Norway.

And Barry Adelman and Tim DuBois will each receive the Mae Boren Axton Award for “years of dedication and service.” As executive vice president of television Dick Clark Productions, Adelman is the longtime producer and writer for the annual ACM Awards show. DuBois is a songwriter and former head of Arista Records’ country division in Nashville.

Also, Bob McDill and the late Felice and Boudleaux Bryant will receive the Poet’s Award for outstanding songwriting.

Studio recording awards will go to Glenn Worf (bass), Greg Morrow (drums), Tom Bukovac (guitar), Michael Rojas (piano, keyboards), Ilya Toshinsky (specialty instruments), Dan Dugmore (steel guitar), Chuck Ainlay (audio engineering) and Jay Joyce (producer).

Luke Laird will be cited as ACM’s songwriter of the year.