Kenny Rogers Will Receive Artist of a Lifetime Award at CMT Artists of the Year

The 90-Minute Special Premieres Dec. 2 on CMT

Kenny Rogers will receive the prestigious Artist of a Lifetime award presented by Ram Trucks during the sixth annual CMT Artists of the Year.

The definitive year end party premieres live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center on Dec. 2 at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

Rogers is only the second recipient of the award with Merle Haggard receiving the inaugural honor in 2014.

“You go through your life and your career and you try to do the right things and make the right decisions,” Rogers said. “You don’t always do that, but I have been very lucky. I am grateful for it all. This is a great honor and one I highly treasure.

“Being in with Merle Haggard on anything is always a thrill. To CMT, the fans and all who made this incredible award possible, I can’t thank you enough.”

The 90-minute CMT Artists of the Year special will feature once-in-a-lifetime performances, unexpected tributes and unforgettable toasts as the biggest stars of music, film and television gather to celebrate the five artists selected by CMT as the top artists of the year: Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt.

The artists collectively dominated the last 12 months, ruling CMT’s platforms and country radio, scoring chart-topping album and singles and selling out arenas across the nation. Additional performers, presenters and special guests will be announced at a later date.

They join an overgrowing prestigious list of past CMT Artists of the Year honorees that includes Jason Aldean (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013), Kenny Chesney (2011, 2012), Eric Church (2012), Hunter Hayes (2013), Toby Keith (2012), Lady Antebellum (2010, 2011), Miranda Lambert (2012, 2014), Tim McGraw (2013), Brad Paisley (2011), Taylor Swift (2010, 2011), Carrie Underwood (2010, 2012), Keith Urban (2014) and the Zac Brown Band (2010).

Previous CMT Artists of the Year performances have included Adele and Darius Rucker performing Lady Antebellum’s “Need You Now,” Lionel Richie and Luke Bryan’s mashup of “Oh No” and “All Night Long” and Maroon 5 covering Taylor Swift’s “Mine.” The show has featured appearances by Ellen DeGeneres, Matthew McConaughey, Selena Gomez, Billy Bob Thornton, Roger Clemens, Morgan Freeman and more.

Having recently announced his retirement from touring on NBC’s Today, Rogers is gearing up for a worldwide farewell tour bringing his legendary music one last time to fans across the globe. Rogers last week embarked on his 34th Christmas & Hits tour in support of his latest holiday album, Once Again It’s Christmas.

In 2013, he was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame and received the Willie Nelson Lifetime Achievement Award at the 47th annual CMA Awards. To date, Rogers has sold more than 120 million albums worldwide. He has charted a record within each of the last seven decades.

The first country artist to consistently sell out arenas, Rogers quickly became a pop superstar. His 28 Billboard adult contemporary Top 10’s rank him fourth-best of all time among males, trailing only Elton John, Neil Diamond and Elvis Presley.

Rogers has received three Grammys, eight Academy of Country Music awards, six Country Music Association awards, 11 People’s Choice awards and 19 American Music Awards,

Join the conversation on the official CMT Facebook page or follow @CMT on Twitter using the official hashtag, #CMTAOTY.

To celebrate Rogers’ lifetime achievement, RAM Trucks and CMT are giving one lucky winner and a guest the chance to attend CMT Artists of the Year event and experience the presentation live with the “Experience of a Lifetime Contest Presented by RAM Trucks.” To enter, fans can go to or enter via social on Facebook, Instagram or Twitter with the custom hashtag #RAMlifetimeContest and submit a photo/video of who inspires them.