Ballerini, Stapleton, Old Dominion Win ACM’s New Artist Awards

Announcement Made in Advance of April 3 Awards Show in Las Vegas

Kelsea Ballerini, Chris Stapleton and Old Dominion are the winners in the newcomer categories at this year’s annual Academy of Country Music Awards, the ACM announced Wednesday (March 23).

Ballerini was selected new female artist of the year, with Stapleton named new male artist and Old Dominion new duo/group.

Previously fan-voted, the newcomer categories are now all incorporated into the professional membership voting process this year.

These awards mark the first-ever ACM Award wins for Ballerini, Stapleton and Old Dominion.

Stapleton leads the ACM nominations with six additional nods, including album of the year (for Traveller) and male vocalist of the year. Ballerini is also nominated for female vocalist of the year, and Old Dominion is up for vocal group of the year.

The 51st annual ACM Awards, co-hosted by Luke Bryan and Dierks Bentley, take place April 3 at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas. CBS will broadcast the awards show live.