Earls of Leicester Lead IBMA Nominees

Clarence White and Rounder Records Founders Chosen for International Bluegrass Hall of Fame

The Earls of Leicester, an all-star band of veteran musicians, lead the field of nominees at the 2016 International Bluegrass Music Awards, the IBMA announced Wednesday morning (July 27) in Nashville.

The band is nominated for entertainer of the year, vocal group of the year and instrumental group of the year. Individual nominations went to Earls of Leicester members Shawn Camp (male vocalist of the year), Jerry Douglas (Dobro player of the year), Barry Bales (bass player of the year) and Charlie Cushman (banjo player of the year). The band is also nominated in the instrumental recorded performance category for “Cazenovia Casanova,” a collaboration with Frank Solivan and Sam Bush).

Nominated in five categories, Flatt Lonesome kicked off the IBMA press conference at the Sirius XM studios with a live performance of the title track of Runaway Train, which is up for album of the year. Sister Sadie entertained with a two-song set that included “Unholy Water.” Lead vocalist Dale Ann Bradley is a five-time nominee for female vocalist of the year.

Camp and Douglas revealed the Distinguished Achievement award recipients — banjo stylist Bill Emerson, songwriter-producer Jim Rooney, the music education non-profit Boston Bluegrass Union, Bluegrass Unlimited magazine and Sirius XM Radio’s Bluegrass Junction channel.

Coinciding with Wednesday’s announcements, the IBMA also revealed its newest members of the International Bluegrass Hall of Fame — guitarist Clarence White and the founders of the Rounder Records label.

White, who was struck and killed by a drunk driver in 1973, is best known for his work in the Kentucky Colonels, Muleskinner and the Byrds. Bill Nowlin, Marian Leighton Levy and Ken Irwin were college students in Boston when they created Rounder Records in 1970. With a focus on roots music, the label became one of the most significant independent record companies in the world.

The IBMA Awards will be presented Sept. 29 during the annual World of Bluegrass week in Raleigh, North Carolina.

Here’s a complete list of this year’s nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Balsam Range
The Del McCoury Band
The Earls of Leicester
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Vocal Group
Balsam Range
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Earls of Leicester
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group
The Earls of Leicester
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Punch Brothers
Sam Bush Band
The Travelin’ McCourys

Song of the Year
“Black River,” Sierra Hull (artist and songwriter)

“Long Way Down,” the SteelDrivers (artist), Elizabeth Mala Hengber, Tammy Rogers King, Jerry Salley (songwriters)

“Radio,” Steep Canyon Rangers (artist), Graham Paul Sharp (songwriter)

“Thunder & Lightning,” Lonesome River Band (artist), Adam Wright (songwriter)

“You’re the One,” Flatt Lonesome (artist), Dwight Yoakam (songwriter)

Album of the Year
Bridging the Tradition, Lonesome River Band
It’s About Tyme, Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
Runaway Train, Flatt Lonesome
The Muscle Shoals Recordings, the SteelDrivers
Weighted Mind, Sierra Hull

Gospel Recorded Performance
“All Dressed Up,” Joe Mullins & the Radio Ramblers
“In The Heat of the Fire,” Flatt Lonesome
“Rocking of the Cradle,” Lonesome River Band
“The Savior Is Born,” Becky Buller
“Won’t You Come and Sing for Me,” Laurie Lewis & the Right Hands

Instrumental Recorded Performance
“Cazenovia Casanova,” Frank Solivan with Sam Bush and Jerry Douglas
“Fireball,” Special Consensus featuring Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley and Alison Brown
“Hogan’s Goat,” the Boxcars
“Hogan’s House of Music,” Ron Block
“Smartville,” Ron Block

Emerging Artist
Band of Ruhks
The Lonely Heartstring Band
Mountain Faith
Sister Sadie
Steve Gulley & New Pinnacle
Town Mountain

Recorded Event
“Fireball,” Special Consensus featuring Rob Ickes, Trey Hensley and Alison Brown
“Highway 40 Blues,” Special Consensus with Della Mae
“In the Pines,” Carl Jackson and Brad Paisley
“Longneck Blues,” Junior Sisk and Ronnie Bowman
“Pretty Woman,” Frank Solivan with Del McCoury

Male Vocalist
Shawn Camp
Del McCoury
Buddy Melton
Tim O’Brien
Danny Paisley

Female Vocalist
Becky Buller
Dale Ann Bradley
Claire Lynch
Amanda Smith
Rhonda Vincent

Banjo Player
Charlie Cushman
Jens Kruger
Mike Munford
Noam Pikelny
Sammy Shelor

Bass Player
Barry Bales
Alan Bartram
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Mark Schatz

Fiddle Player
Becky Buller
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Ron Stewart

Dobro Player
Jerry Douglas
Andy Hall
Rob Ickes
Phil Leadbetter
Josh Swift

Guitar Player
Chris Eldridge
Jim Hurst
Kenny Smith
Bryan Sutton
Josh Williams

Mandolin Player
Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull
Frank Solivan
Adam Steffey