Pistol Annies Reunite for Don Williams Tribute Compilation

Gentle Giants: The Songs of Don Williams Arrives May 26

Gentle Giants: The Songs of Don Williams (out May 26) will feature a Pistol Annies reunion for Miranda Lambert, Ashley Monroe and Angaleena Presley.

A portion of the proceeds from the tribute compilation will benefit the Recording Academy’s charitable foundation MusiCares, which offers assistance to music professionals in times of need and covers a wide range of financial, medical and personal emergencies.

Pistol Annies sing the album opener, “Tulsa Time.” Jason Isbell and Amanda Shires cover “If I Needed You,” while Chris Stapleton sings with his wife Morgane on “Amanda.” “Love Is on a Roll” is a collaboration between John Prine with singer-songwriter Roger Cook. Dierks Bentley, Garth Brooks, Brandy Clark, Alison Krauss, Lady Antebellum, Keb’ Mo’ and Trisha Yearwood also contributed performances for the album.

Williams announced his retirement from performing in 2016, concluding a 50-year career that includes two CMA Awards, two ACM Awards and 17 No. 1s. He was inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2010.

Here is a full track listing for Gentle Giants: The Songs of Don Williams:

1. “Tulsa Time,” Pistol Annies
2. “I Believe in You,” Brandy Clark
3. “We’ve Got a Good Fire Goin’,” Lady Antebellum
4. “Some Broken Hearts Never Mend,” Dierks Bentley
5. “Amanda,” Chris Stapleton featuring Morgane Stapleton
6. “Till the Rivers All Run Dry,” Alison Krauss
7. “Love Is on a Roll,” John Prine featuring Roger Cook
8. “If I Needed You,” Jason Isbell & Amanda Shires
9. “Maggie’s Dream,” Trisha Yearwood
10. “Lord I Hope This Day Is Good,” Keb’ Mo’
11. “Good Ole Boys Like Me,” Garth Brooks

Lauren Tingle is a Tennessean and storyteller who eats music for breakfast, lunch and dinner. When she’s not writing or rocking out, she enjoys yoga and getting lost in the great outdoors.