Canadian Country Nominations Announced

Nominees for the 2005 Canadian Country Music Association Awards were announced Wednesday (Aug. 3) during press conferences in Toronto and Calgary. Female artist of the year nominations went to Lisa Brokop, Terri Clark, Carolyn Dawn Johnson, Shania Twain and Amanda Wilkinson. Paul Brandt and George Canyon shared male artist nominations with Jason McCoy, Aaron Pritchett and Deric Ruttan. Nominated for album of the year are Brokop's Hey, Do You Know Me, the Poverty Plainsmen's Lap of Luxury, Canyon's One Good Friend, the Road Hammers' self-titled release and Brandt's This Time Around. Single of the year nominations include Brandt's "Convoy," Johnson's "Die of a Broken Heart," the Road Hammers' "I'm a Road Hammer," Canyon's "My Name" and the Poverty Plainsmen's "Sister Golden Hair." The awards show is set for Sept. 12 in Calgary.

Latest News