Willie Nelson Offers New Album of Country Classics

Willie Nelson released a new album of country covers, Remember Me, Vol. 1, on Monday (Nov. 21) on R&J Records. The track list stretches from the mid-1940s, including Bob Wills & His Texas Playboys' "Roly Poly" and Tex Williams' "Smoke! Smoke! Smoke! (That Cigarette"), to 1989 with Vern Gosdin's "That Just About Does It." However, most of the material originates from the 1950s, including classics from Tennessee Ernie Ford, George Jones, Webb Pierce, Ray Price, Hank Snow, Ernest Tubb and Porter Wagoner, along with Rosemary Clooney's 1954 pop hit, "This Old House." Nelson also covers Kris Kristofferson's "Sunday Morning Coming Down" (1970) and Merle Haggard's "Today I Started Loving You Again" (1970) and "Ramblin' Fever" (1977). A second volume is expected next year. Nelson teamed with producer James Stroud for the project.

Latest News