Rhonda Vincent Top Nominee for Bluegrass Awards

SPBGMA Show Highlights Organization's Annual Convention in Nashville

Perennial winner Rhonda Vincent is up for seven major honors Feb. 5 at the Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music of America's awards show in Nashville. The show is the final event of SPBGMA's 32nd annual convention, which runs Feb. 2-5 at the Sheraton Music City hotel.

Individually, Vincent is in the running for contemporary female vocalist and entertainer of the year. With her band, the Rage, she is nominated for album, song, vocal group, instrumental group and overall bluegrass band of the year. Vincent copped three awards -- including top entertainer -- at last year's show.

Cherryholmes, the surprise winner of the International Bluegrass Music Association's entertainer of the year trophy for 2005, is contending for vocal group, entertaining group and overall bluegrass band of the year.

Dobro pioneer Mike Auldridge will be inducted into SPBGMA's Preservation Hall of Greats as part of the awards ceremonies.

Here are the categories and nominees:

Entertainer: Mike Andes, Doyle Lawson, Del McCoury, Michelle Nixon, Randy Waller, Rhonda Vincent

Album: The Daughters of American Bluegrass, Various Artists; The Grascals, the Grascals; Ragin' Live, Rhonda Vincent & the Rage; Somewhere Between, NewFound Road; What More Should I Say, Michelle Nixon & Drive; You Gotta Dig a Little Deeper, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Song: "Daddy's Old Guitar," Randy Waller; "Echo Mountain," James King; "I Know Rain," Michelle Nixon & Drive; "I've Forgotten You," Rhonda Vincent; "Me and John And Paul," the Grascals; "Ode to the Simple Man," the Chapmans

Songwriter: Harley Allen, Becky Buller, Shawn Camp, Larry Cordle, Dixie and Tom T. Hall, Carl Jackson

Contemporary Female Vocalist: Melonie Cannon, Honi Deaton, Sonya Isaacs, Alison Krauss, Amanda Smith, Rhonda Vincent

Traditional Female Vocalist: Dale Ann Bradley, Lorraine Jordan, Michelle Nixon, Alecia Nugent, Valerie Smith, Jeanette Williams

Contemporary Male Vocalist: Mike Andes, Ronnie Bowman, Russell Moore, David Parmley, Larry Stephenson, Randy Waller

Traditional Male Vocalist: David Guthrie, James King, Del McCoury, Junior Sisk, Larry Sparks, Paul Williams

Vocal Group: Carolina Road, Cherryholmes, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Michelle Nixon & Drive, IIIrd Tyme Out, Rhonda Vincent & the Rage

Instrumental Group: Blue Highway, Carolina Road, the Grascals, Del McCoury Band, Ricky Skaggs & Kentucky Thunder, Rhonda Vincent & the Rage

Entertaining Group: Bluegrass Brothers, Carolina Road, Cherryholmes, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Del McCoury Band, Nothin' Fancy

Overall Bluegrass Band: Cherryholmes, the Grascals, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, Del McCoury Band, IIIrd Tyme Out, Rhonda Vincent & the Rage

Contemporary Gospel Group: Blue Highway, the Churchmen, the Isaacs, the Marksmen, Mountain Heart, NewFound Road

Traditional Gospel Group: BlueRidge, Jordan River, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, the Sullivan Family, the Village Singers, Paul Williams & the Victory Trio

Overall Gospel Group: Blue Highway, BlueRidge, the Lewis Family, NewFound Road, the Village Singers, Paul Williams & the Victory Trio

Bass Fiddler: Mike Bub, Tim Massey, Tres Nugent, Missy Raines, Adam Seale, Marshall Wilborn

Dobroist: Mike Auldridge, Jerry Douglas, Tim Graves, Rob Ickes, Randy Kohrs, Phil Leadbetter

Guitarist: John Chapman, Skip Cherryholmes, David Guthrie, Kenny Smith, Tim Stafford, Josh Williams

Mandolinist: Mike Andes, Alan Bibey, Jeremy Chapman, Lorraine Jordan, Ronnie McCoury, Danny Roberts

Banjoist: Cia Cherryholmes, J. D. Crowe, Kenny Ingram, Rick Pardue, Sammy Shelor, David Talbot

Fiddler: Jason Barie, Hunter Berry, B. J. Cherryholmes, Justen Hayes, Alan Johnson, Jimmy Mattingly

Latest News