Richard Thompson, Booker T. Jones Tapped for Americana Lifetime Achievement Honors

Singer-songwriter Richard Thompson and keyboardist Booker T. Jones will receive lifetime achievement awards from the Americana Music Association during the organization's 11th annual presentation ceremony on Sept. 12 at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium. Thompson will be honored for his songwriting and Jones for his work as an instrumentalist. As previously announced, Bonnie Raitt will receive the lifetime achievement award for performance. All three artists will perform during the ceremony that highlights the Americana Music Festival and Conference taking place Sept. 12-15. Thompson achieved acclaim in the late '60s as a member of the British folk-rock band, Fairport Convention, and later as a duo with his former wife, Linda Thompson. As a solo artist, Thompson's songwriting credits include "1952 Vincent Black Lightning" (recorded by the Del McCoury Band) and "Tear-Stained Letter" (a Top 10 country hit in 1988 for Jo-el Sonnier). Jones is best known as the organist for Booker T & the MGs and for his work in the studio band at Stax Records in Memphis. His production credits include Willie Nelson's Stardust album.

Latest News