Sturgill Simpson Leads Americana Music Nominees

Artist of the Year Contenders Include Jason Isbell, John Prine, Lori McKenna and Margo Price

Sturgill Simpson earned nominations in three categories when the 16th annual Americana Music Association Awards nominees were revealed on Tuesday (May 9) at the Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum in Nashville.

The Milk Carton Kids' Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan hosted the live webcast with performances by Jason Isbell, Jerry Douglas, Patterson Hood and Mike Cooley of the Drive-By Truckers.

Nominated for artist of the year alongside Isbell, John Prine, Lori McKenna and Margo Price, Simpson is up for album of the year for his Grammy-winning A Sailor's Guide to Earth and song of the year for "All Around You."

The winners of each category will be revealed during the Americana Honors and Awards show on Sept. 13 at Nashville's Ryman Auditorium during the 2017 Americana Music Festival and Conference, which runs from Sept. 12-17. The recipient for the organization's lifetime achievement award will be revealed leading up to the event.

Album of the Year

American Band, Drive-By Truckers

Producer: David Barbe

A Sailor's Guide to Earth, Sturgill Simpson

Producer: Sturgill Simpson

Close Ties, Rodney Crowell

Producers: Kim Buie and Jordan Lehning

Freedom Highway, Rhiannon Giddens

Producers: David Bither, Rhiannon Giddens and Dirk Powell

The Navigator, Hurray for the Riff Raff

Producer: Paul Butler

Artist of the Year

Jason Isbell

John Prine

Lori McKenna

Margo Price

Sturgill Simpson


Billy Bragg & Joe Henry

Drive-By Truckers

Marty Stuart & His Fabulous Superlatives

The Lumineers

Emerging Artist

Aaron Lee Tasjan

Amanda Shires

Brent Cobb

Sam Outlaw

Song of the Year

"All Around You," Sturgill Simpson

"It Ain't Over Yet," Rodney Crowell (featuring Rosanne Cash and John Paul White)

"To Be Without You," Ryan Adams

"Wreck You," Lori McKenna


Spencer Cullum Jr.

Jen Gunderman

Courtney Hartman

Charlie Sexton

Latest News