Musicians Hall of Fame to Induct Garth Brooks, Ricky Skaggs and the Late Jerry Reed

Studio Musicians Who Created “The Sound of Philadelphia” Also Tapped for Induction

Garth Brooks, Ricky Skaggs and the late Jerry Reed are among those announced as the 2016 inductees for the Musicians Hall of Fame.

Other inductees include the G-Men, the studio musicians who have backed Brooks on all of his studio albums, and the Sigma Sound Studio Rhythm Section, the Philadelphia-based studio musicians who created countless R&B hits.

Allen Reynolds will be presented the Producer Award for producing such classics as Crystal Gayle’s “Don’t It Make My Brown Eyes Blue,” Kathy Mattea’s “18 Wheels and a Dozen Roses” and Brooks’ hits including “Friends in Low Places" and “The Dance.”

Former Eagles guitarist and songwriter Don Felder has been tapped for the Iconic Riff Award for creating the guitar intro and solo in “Hotel California.”

The Musicians Hall of Fame ceremony will provide a rare opportunity to see Brooks perform live with the G-Men, whose members include Bruce Bouton (steel guitar), Mark Casstevens (rhythm guitar), Rob Hajacos (fiddle), Chris Leuzinger (lead guitar), Milton Sledge (drums), Bobby Wood (keyboards) and the late Mike Chapman (bass).

The Sigma Sound Studio Rhythm Section created what became known in the ‘70s as “The Sound of Philadelphia” through classic hits such as the O’Jays’ “Back Stabbers,” the Delfonics’ “La La Means I Love You” and Harold Melvin & the Blue Notes’ “If You Don’t Know Me by Now.” The members include Tommy Bell (keyboards), Charles Collins (drums), Bobby Eli (guitar), Dennis Harris (guitar), Jimmy Williams (bass), Earl Young (drums) and the late Ronnie Baker (guitar), Norman Harris (guitar), Vince Montana (vibraphone), T.J. Tindall (guitar) and Larry Washington (congas).

Five studio veterans will receive the Engineering Award. They include:

Lou Bradley, who worked for Bill Lowery Music Co. in Atlanta, where he engineered hits such ‘60s hits as Billy Joe Royal’s “Cherry Hill Park” and the Tams’ “Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy.” In Nashville, his list of engineering credits include George Jones” “He Stopped Loving Her Today.”

Mark Miller, whose credits include Kathy Mattea’s “18 Wheels and a Dozen Roses,” Hal Ketchum’s “Small Town Saturday Night” and all of Garth Brooks’ records.

Ron “Snake” Reynolds, who has more than 600 Billboard Top 40 hits, including 60 chart-toppers. His list of credits include George Jones, Merle Haggard, Shania Twain, Toby Keith, David Allan Coe, Elvis Costello, Tanya Tucker, Loretta Lynn and George Strait.

Joe Tarsia, who has earned more than 150 gold and platinum record awards. His engineering credits include albums such as Dusty Springfield’s A Brand New Me and Teddy Pendergrass’ Life Is a Song Worth Singing. He is a founder of Sigma Sound Studios in Philadelphia.

Musicians Hall of Fame induction ceremony and concert is set for Oct. 26 at Nashville’s Municipal Auditorium. Tickets go on sale Sept. 12 via Ticketmaster.

Latest News