Carrie Underwood Earns ACM Special Achievement Award

Rascal Flatts, Toby Keith, Ronnie Milsap Among Off-Camera Winners

Carrie Underwood, Rascal Flatts, Toby Keith and Ronnie Milsap are among the country artists recognized with special off-camera ACM Awards for their remarkable achievements. The awards will be presented at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville on Sept. 9.

Underwood has been chosen for the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award. In 2013, she gained widespread exposure through NFL Sunday Night Football and the live NBC broadcast of The Sound of Music. Her Blown Away tour traveled to London's Royal Albert Hall, followed by extensive dates across the U.S. and Canada. Upon completing the tour, she donated $1 million to the American Red Cross for disaster relief. She continues to support her hometown of Checotah, Okla., through her C.A.T.S. Foundation.

Keith and Milsap will receive the Career Achievement Award for their accomplishments in country music and beyond. Steve Buchanan, the president of the Opry Entertainment Group, has also been selected for the honor.

In addition, Rascal Flatts are being honored with the Jim Reeves International Award. Last year, the group performed a total of seven shows across Norway, Sweden, the United Kingdom and Ireland.

In addition, the late music publisher Bob Beckham has been named the recipient of the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award. Paul Moore of the William Morris team in Nashville will receive the Mae Boren Axton Award for dedication and service to the Academy of Country Music.

Kris Kristofferson, Dean Dillon and the late Jack Clement and Buck Owens have been selected to receive the Poet's Award which honors songwriters. As previously announced, Merle Haggard is being honored with the ACM Crystal Milestone Award to signify his 50th year in country music.

Additional off-camera awards are as follows:

Bass player: Michael Rhodes

Drummer: Shannon Forrest

Guitar player: Rob McNelley

Piano/keyboards Player: Charlie Judge

Steel guitar layer: Paul Franklin

Audio engineer: Justin Niebank

Producer: Dann Huff

Specialty instruments player: Bryan Sutton

Songwriter: Shane McAnally

Casino, small capacity: Mohegan Sun Wolf Den (Uncasville, Conn.)

Casino, medium capacity: Mohegan Sun Arena (Uncasville, Conn.)

Nightclub: Billy Bob's Texas (Fort Worth, Texas)

Venue, small capacity: Austin City Limits Live at the Moody Theater (Austin)

Venue, medium capacity: Grand Ole Opry House (Nashville)

Venue, large capacity: Bridgestone Arena (Nashville)

Don Romeo Talent Buyer: Nicole More (Neste Event Marketing)

Promoter: Brian O'Connell (Live Nation)

Latest News