Los Super 7 Offer Celebration of Border Radio

The supergroup Los Super 7 released a new album, Heard It on the X, on Tuesday (March 22) on Telarc. The all-star project pays tribute to border radio, also known as X radio — the eclectic, underground music broadcast on pirated airwaves by Americans living on the Texas-Mexico border from the 1930s through the 1960s. The current lineup of Los Super 7 includes Joe Ely, Freddy Fender, Ruben Ramos and Rick Trevino. Clarence “Gatemouth” Brown, Calexico, Rodney Crowell, John Hiatt, Lyle Lovett, Raul Malo and Delbert McClinton also appear on the album.