Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood, Zac Brown Lead ACM Nominations

Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton Announce Nominees in New York City

Lady Antebellum, Miranda Lambert, Carrie Underwood and Zac Brown emerged as the top contenders when the nominations for the 45th annual Academy of Country Music Awards were revealed Tuesday (March 2) in New York City. Reba McEntire and Blake Shelton announced the nominees during a segment of The Early Show on CBS.

Lady Antebellum’s seven nominations in five categories follow the release of a new album, Need You Now, which has sold than 1 million copies in just four weeks. Lambert and Underwood received six each nominations in five categories, and Brown netted a total of six nominations, including four as a member of the Zac Brown Band and another two as the group’s producer.

Taylor Swift received a total of five nominations, including her first entertainer of the year nod from the ACM, and Kenny Chesney and Brad Paisley garnered four nominations each.

Under the ACM tally, artists receive multiple nominations in certain categories if they wrote the song or produced the recording.

Lady Antebellum led with seven nominations, including top vocal group, album of the year (for their self-titled debut project) and single record of the year, song of the year and video of the year (for “Need You Now” ). The trio’s members — Dave Haywood, Charles Kelley and Hillary Scott — also picked up additional nominations in the song of the year division for co-writing “Need You Now” with Josh Kear. The single of the year category also netted them an additional nomination for co-producing the track with Paul Worley.

Lambert is up for top female vocalist and album of the year (for Revolution). “White Liar,” one of the album’s tracks, is nominated in the single record, song and video of the year categories. In addition to her nomination as an artist, she got an additional mention in the song category for co-writing “White Liar” with Natalie Hemby.

Underwood, the ACM’s reigning entertainer of the year, is again nominated in the category. She’s also nominated as an artist and composer (with Mike Elizondo and Brett James) for song of the year for “Cowboy Casanova.” Her collaboration with Randy Travis on “I Told You So” resulted in a nomination for vocal event of the year. Additionally, she’s nominated for top female vocalist and album of the year (for Play On). She has been named the ACM’s top female vocalist for the three consecutive years.

The Zac Brown Band is nominated for four awards, including entertainer of the year, top new vocal group, album of the year (for The Foundation and single record of the year (for “Toes” ). Brown’s two additional nominations are as producer in the album and single categories.

In addition to her entertainer of the year nomination, Swift is nominated for top female vocalist. Her hit, “You Belong With Me,” is up for video of the year. In addition to her nomination as an artist in the song of the year field, Swift is also nominated for co-writing “You Belong With Me” with Liz Rose.

Chesney’s nominations include entertainer of the year (an honor he has already won four times) and top male vocalist. He’s also nominated as an artist and producer (with Buddy Cannon) in the vocal event of the year category for “I’m Alive,” his recording with Dave Matthews.

Paisley is also up for entertainer of the year and top male vocalist. His American Saturday Night is nominated for album of the year, and “Welcome to the Future” is competing for video of the year.

The other entertainer of the year nominees are Toby Keith, George Strait and Keith Urban. This year’s entertainer of the year list includes eight artists, with the winner being determined by online voting by fans. The three categories for newcomers — top new solo vocalist, vocal group and vocal duo — will also be opened up to fan voting. The winner in each of those three categories will then move on to compete for overall top new artist, another fan-voted category.

Awards show organizers have also announced that this year’s ACM/The Home Depot Humanitarian Award will be given to Montgomery Gentry.

Reba McEntire will host the show live from the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas on April 18. The show will be telecast on CBS.

Here’s a complete list of the nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Kenny Chesney
Toby Keith
Brad Paisley
George Strait
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban
Zac Brown Band

Top Male Vocalist
Kenny Chesney
Brad Paisley
Darius Rucker George Strait
Keith Urban

Top Female Vocalist
Miranda Lambert
Reba McEntire
Taylor Swift
Carrie Underwood
Lee Ann Womack

Top Vocal Group
Lady Antebellum
Little Big Town Randy Rogers Band Rascal Flatts Zac Brown Band

Top Vocal Duo
Brooks & Dunn Joey & Rory Montgomery Gentry
Steel Magnolia Sugarland

Top New Solo Vocalist
Luke Bryan Jamey Johnson Chris Young

Top New Vocal Duo
Bomshel Joey & Rory
Steel Magnolia

Top New Vocal Group
Eli Young Band Gloriana the Lost Trailers

Album of the Year
American Saturday Night
Brad Paisley
Producers: Chris DuBois, Frank Rogers

Lady Antebellum
Lady Antebellum
Producers: Victoria Shaw, Paul Worley

Play On
Carrie Underwood
Producer: Mark Bright
(“Quitter” produced By Max Martin and Shellback for Maratone Productions and Mark Bright)

Miranda Lambert
Producers: Frank Liddell, Mike Wrucke

The Foundation
Zac Brown Band
Producers: Keith Stegall, Zac Brown

Single Record of the Year
“Need You Now” Lady Antebellum
Producers: Lady Antebellum, Paul Worley

“People Are Crazy” Billy Currington Producers: Carson Chamberlain, Billy Currington

“Red Light” David Nail Producers: Frank Liddell, Mike Wrucke

“Toes” Zac Brown Band
Producers: Keith Stegall, Zac Brown

“White Liar” Miranda Lambert
Producers: Frank Liddell, Mike Wrucke

Song of the Year
“Cowboy Casanova” Carrie Underwood
Writers: Mike Elizondo, Brett James, Carrie Underwood

“Need You Now”
Lady Antebellum
Writers: Dave Haywood, Josh Kear, Charles Kelley, Hillary Scott

“People Are Crazy”
Billy Currington
Writers: Bobby Braddock, Troy Jones

“White Liar”
Miranda Lambert
Writers: Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert

“You Belong With Me” Taylor Swift
Writers: Liz Rose, Taylor Swift

Video of the Year
“Boots On” Randy Houser Producer: Eric Welch
Director: Eric Welch
(Drake Footage: Vickie Vaughn)

“Need You Now”
Lady Antebellum
Producer: Clarke Gallican
Director: David McClister

“Welcome to the Future” Brad Paisley
Producers: Mark Kalbfeld, Jim Shea, Peter Tilden
Director: Jim Shea

“White Liar”
Miranda Lambert
Producer: Tameron Hedge
Director: Chris Hicky

“You Belong With Me”
Taylor Swift
Producer: Randy Brewer
Director: Roman White

Vocal Event
“Hillbilly Bone” Blake Shelton Featuring Trace Adkins Producer: Scott Hendricks

“Honky Tonk Stomp” Brooks & Dunn Featuring Billy Gibbons
Producers: Ronnie Dunn, Terry McBride

“I Told You So” Carrie Underwood Featuring Randy Travis
Producer: Mark Bright

“I’m Alive” Kenny Chesney With Dave Matthews
Producers: Buddy Cannon, Kenny Chesney

“Seeing Stars”
Jack Ingram Featuring Patty Griffin Producers: Jack Ingram, Jeremy Stover

Calvin Gilbert has served as’s managing editor since 2002. His background includes stints at the Nashville Banner, Radio & Records and Westwood One.