IBMA Awards: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out Lead List of Bluegrass Nominees

Alison Krauss & Union Station, Blue Highway and the Boxcars Also Score Multiple Nominations

Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out and its individual members snagged nominations in nine categories to lead the field at the 2012 International Bluegrass Music Awards. Alison Krauss & Union Station followed close behind with eight nominations. Blue Highway and the Boxcars garnered seven nominations each.

Additionally, bluegrass mainstay Doyle Lawson and the late folklorist Ralph Rinzler were announced as the newest members of the International Bluegrass Hall of Fame during a Wednesday afternoon (Aug. 15) press conference at the Loveless Barn near Nashville.

Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out are nominated for entertainer and vocal group of the year. They also received nominations for instrumental performance (“Carroll County Blues”) and song of the year (“Pretty Little Girl From Galax,” written by Milan Miller). Both songs are featured on the band’s Prime Tyme, nominated for album of the year. Moore also received a nomination for male vocalist and is included in the gospel recorded performance and recorded event category for “Beyond the Sunset,” a song he recorded live with Lawson, Jamie Dailey and Josh Swift. IIIrd Tyme Out’s Wayne Benson is up for mandolin player of the year.

Krauss & Union Station are in the running for entertainer of the year, album of the year (Paper Airplane) and song of the year (“Dust Bowl Children,” written by Peter Rowan). Krauss and Dan Tyminski are nominated for female and male vocalist of the year, and instrumentalist nominations went to banjo player Ron Block, Dobro player Jerry Douglas and bassist Barry Bales.

The 68-year-old Lawson began playing mandolin at age 11 and joined Jimmy Martin’s band, the Sunny Mountain Boys, at 18. Three years later, he began working with J.D. Crowe & the Kentucky Mountain Boys (later named the New South). In 1971, he began an eight-year tenure as a member of the Country Gentlemen before establishing his own band, Quicksilver, in 1979. He is recognized as one of the greatest bandleaders in the history of bluegrass music and a mentor to numerous musicians.

Rinzler, who died in 1994, was a scholar, musician, writer, promoter, producer and social activist. His skills as a banjo and mandolin player led to his recordings with the Greenbriar Boys. As a folklorist, he traveled North Carolina in 1961 to make field recordings of rural folk musicians for Folkways Records. During the trip, he met Doc Watson and later booked concerts for him at urban venues in major cities which led to the guitarist’s success. Rinzler was a founder of the Smithsonian Folklife Festival in Washington, D.C., and later headed the Center for Folklife Programs and Cultural Studies.

This year’s IBMA awards show takes place Sept. 27 at the Ryman Auditorium in downtown Nashville. The organization’s Distinguished Achievement Awards will be presented at a luncheon earlier that day during the World of Bluegrass Business Conference in Nashville.

Here’s a complete list of this year’s nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Dailey & Vincent The Gibson Brothers
Alison Krauss Steve Martin and the Steep Canyon Rangers IIIrd Tyme Out

Vocal Group
Blue Highway Dailey & Vincent
The Gibson Brothers
Doyle Lawson Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out

Instrumental Group
Blue Highway
The Boxcars
Sam Bush Band Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Punch Brothers

Male Vocalist
Audie Blaylock
Jamie Dailey
Vince Gill Russell Moore
Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist
Dale Ann Bradley Sonya Isaacs
Alison Krauss
Claire Lynch Rhonda Vincent

Emerging Artist
Darin & Brooke Aldridge
Della Mae
Joe Mullins & the Radio Ramblers
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Darrell Webb Band

Album of the Year
All In
The Boxcars

Paper Airplane
Alison Krauss & Union Station

Prime Tyme
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out

Sounds of Home
Blue Highway

The Heart of a Song
Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice

Song of the Year
“A Far Cry From Lester and Earl”
Artist: Junior Sisk & Ramblers Choice
Writers: Tim Massey, Rick Purdue and Harry Sisk Jr.

“Dust Bowl Children”
Artist: Alison Krauss & Union Station
Writer: Peter Rowan

“Pretty Little Girl From Galax”
Artist: Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out
Writer: Milan Miller

“Somewhere South of Crazy”
Artist: Dale Ann Bradley
Writers: Dale Ann Bradley and Pam Tillis

“Sounds of Home”
Artist: Blue Highway
Writer: Shawn Lane

Gospel Recorded Performance
“Beyond the Sunset”
Doyle Lawson, Russell Moore, Jamie Dailey and Josh Swift

“I Pressed Through the Crowd”
Dale Ann Bradley

“I Saw Him Walk Out of the Sky”
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Paul Williams & the Victory Trio

“Singing as We Rise”
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Recorded Performance
“Angeline the Baker”
The Lonesome River Band

“Carroll County Blues”
Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out

Tony Rice, Josh Williams, Aaron Ramsey, Aubrey Haynie and Rob Ickes

“Roaring Creek”
Blue Highway

“That’s What She Said”
The Boxcars

Recorded Event
“Beyond the Sunset”
Doyle Lawson, Russell Moore, Jamie Dailey and Josh Swift

“Life Goes On”
Carl Jackson, Ronnie Bowman, Larry Cordle, Jerry Salley, Rickey Wasson, Randy Kohrs, D.A. Adkins, Garnet Bowman, Lynn Butler, Ashley Kohrs, Gary Payne, Dale Pyatt, Clay Hess, Alan Bibey, Jay Weaver, Ron Stewart and Jim Vancleve

Special Consensus With Josh Williams and Chris Jones

“Old Violin”
Larry Cordle and Michael Cleveland

“Singing as We Rise”
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Performers

Kristin Scott Benson
Ron Block
J.D. Crowe
Sammy Shelor
Ron Stewart

Barry Bales
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Mark Schatz
Marshall Wilborn

Hunter Berry
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Ron Stewart

Mike Auldridge
Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs Phil Leadbetter

Tony Rice
Kenny Smith
Bryan Sutton Doc Watson Josh Williams

Wayne Benson
Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Sierra Hull Adam Steffey

2012 Hall of Fame Inductees
Doyle Lawson
Ralph Rinzler

Special Award Nominations

Bluegrass Broadcaster
Kyle Cantrell, Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Nashville)
Katy Daley, WAMU’s Bluegrass Country (Washington, D.C.)
Chris Jones, Sirius XM Satellite Radio (Nashville)

Bluegrass Event
Bristol Rhythm and Roots Reunion (Bristol, Tenn./Va.)
La Roche Bluegrass Festival (La Roche, France)
Romp, produced by the International Bluegrass Music Museum (Owensboro, Ky.)

Best Graphic Design for Recorded Project
Designer: Bedrock Manufacturing
Nobody Knows You, Steep Canyon Rangers

Designer: Caroline Hadilaksono
Beat the Devil and Carry a Rail, Noam Pikelny

Designer: Lynch Graphics
Home From the Hills, Jimmy Gaudreau and Moondi Klein

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project
Writer: Geoffrey Himes
John Duffey: The Rebel Years: 1962-1977, John Duffey

Writer: Marian Leighton Levy
Tony Rice: The Bill Monroe Collection, Tony Rice

Writer: Bill Nowlin
Bill Monroe Centennial Celebration: A Classic Bluegrass Tribute, Various Artists

Bluegrass Print/Media Person
Marty Godbey, author of Crowe on the Banjo: The Music Life of J.D. Crowe

Derek Halsey, Herald Dispatch (Huntington, W.Va.) and Bluegrass Unlimited magazine

Ted Lehmann, Ted Lehmann’s Bluegrass, Books and Brainstorms

Bluegrass Songwriter
Tom T. and Dixie Hall
Donna Ulisse
Jon Weisberger

2012 Distinguished Achievement Award
Byron Berline
Joe and Lil Cornett (Gettysburg Bluegrass Festival)
Orin Friesen
Kitsy Kuykendall
Darrell “Pee Wee” Lambert

Calvin Gilbert has served as’s managing editor since 2002. His background includes stints at the Nashville Banner, Radio & Records and Westwood One.