ACM Awards: Songwriter and Studio Nominees Announced

Categories Will Be Presented in September During ACM Honors Ceremony in Nashville

Rhett Akins, Rodney Clawson, Ashley Gorley, Luke Laird and Shane McAnally are the 2013 nominees for the Academy of Country Music’s songwriter of the year.

The announcement was made Wednesday morning (Jan. 29) concurrently with the list of other ACM nominees . Winners in the artist categories will be revealed April 6 in Las Vegas during the 49th annual ACM Awards. The songwriter of the year will be named along with the studio recording, radio and concert industry categories during the eighth annual ACM Honors ceremony in Nashville on Sept. 9.

Akins’ recent songwriting credits include “Hey Girl,” “It Goes Like This” and “Get Me Some of That.” Clawson’s list includes “Did It for the Girl,” “Drink on It,” “Drunk on You,” “One of Those Nights,” “Take a Little Ride” and “Where I Come From.” Gorley’s cuts encompass “Better Than I Used to Be,” “Good Girl” and “Why Ya Wanna.”

Laird has had success with “One of Those Nights,” “Pontoon” and “Somebody’s Heartbreak,” among others. On Sunday (Jan. 26), McAnally won a Grammy for best country song for co-writing Kacey Musgraves“Merry Go ’Round.” His other recent hits include “Alone With You,” “Better Dig Two,” “Come Over” and “Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye.”

Here’s a complete list of nominees for the studio recording awards category:

Mike Brignardello
Kevin “Swine” Grantt
Mark Hill
Michael Rhodes
Glenn Worf

Chad Cromwell
Fred Eltringham
Shannon Forrest
Greg Morrow
Lonnie Wilson

Jeff King
Troy Lancaster
Brent Mason
Rob McNelley
Jerry McPherson

Tony Harrell
John Jarvis
Charlie Judge
Tim Lauer
Gordon Mote

Specialty Instrument
Glen Duncan
Larry Franklin
Jim Hoke
Danny Rader
Bryan Sutton

Steel Guitar
Dan Dugmore
Paul Franklin
Steve Hinson
Russ Pahl
Scotty Sanders

Audio Engineer
Derek Bason
Ben Fowler
Mills Logan
Steve Marcantonio
Justin Niebank

Mark Bright
Dann Huff
Michael Knox
Frank Liddell
Paul Worley

For more information on the radio and concert industry nominees, visit the ACM’s website.