The Doobie Brothers Reveal Duet Partners for Upcoming Album

They'll Release Southbound on Nov. 4

The Doobie Brothers will be taking it to the streets with a country-influenced album, Southbound, on Nov. 4.

Blake Shelton, Hunter Hayes and Toby Keith are among the country artists who recorded with the classic rock band for the upcoming project for Arista Nashville.

The full track listing has also been revealed:

“Black Water” (Zac Brown Band)
“China Grove” (Chris Young)
“Jesus Is Just Alright” (Casey James)
“Listen to the Music” (Blake Shelton with Hunter Hayes on guitar)
“Long Train Runnin'” (Toby Keith)
“Nobody” (Charlie Worsham)
“Rockin’ Down the Highway” (Brad Paisley)
“South City Midnight Lady” (Jerrod Niemann)
“Take Me in Your Arms (Rock Me a Little While)” (Tyler Farr)
“Takin’ It to the Streets” (Love and Theft)
“What a Fool Believes” (Sara Evans)
“You Belong to Me” (Johnnyswim’s Amanda Sudano Ramirez with Vince Gill on guitar)

In choosing the album title, the Doobie Brothers’ Tom Johnston said, “Southbound seemed like the perfect name of this collaboration project with all these dynamic country artists. The band has a lot of roots, both musically and lyrically, from the South such as blues, country, R&B and folk. To us, it was a natural fit that it be called Southbound.”

Johnston and Patrick Simmons continue to front the Doobie Brothers, while multi-instrumentalist John McFee’s history with the band dates back to 1978. Michael McDonald returned to the studio with the Doobie Brothers for the new album.