CMT Reveals 2015 Artists of the Year Honorees

Dec. 2 Special Spotlights Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan, Sam Hunt

Blake Shelton, Florida Georgia Line, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Sam Hunt will be this year’s honorees at the CMT Artists of the Year special, the definitive year-end party. The announcement was made Wednesday (Nov. 11) on NBC’s Today.

The sixth annual CMT Artists of the Year will premiere live from Nashville’s Schermerhorn Symphony Center on Dec. 2 at 8 p.m. ET/PT.

The 90-minute special pays tribute to the top country artists of the year with once-in-a-lifetime performances, unexpected tributes and unforgettable toasts from the biggest stars of music, film and television.

From house parties to girl crushes to sippin’ on sangria …and then fire, these five artists collectively kicked the dust up to dominate the last 12 months ruling CMT’s platforms and country radio, scoring chart-topping album and singles and selling out arenas around the nation. Bryan and Florida Georgia Line have each received multiple Artists of the Year recognitions during the past three years, with Shelton, Little Big Town and Sam Hunt celebrating as first-time honorees.

Additional performers, presenters, and special guests will be announced in the days to come.

Past CMT Artists of the Year include Jason Aldean (2010, 2011, 2012, 2013), Kenny Chesney (2011, 2012), Eric Church (2012), Hunter Hayes (2013), Toby Keith (2012), Lady Antebellum (2010, 2011), Miranda Lambert (2012, 2014), Tim McGraw (2013), Brad Paisley (2011), Taylor Swift (2010, 2011), Carrie Underwood (2010, 2012), Keith Urban (2014) and the Zac Brown Band (2010).

Join join the conversation on the official CMT Facebook page or follow @CMT on Twitter using the official hashtag, #CMTAOTY.