Kenny Chesney Earns ACM Crystal Milestone Award

Emmylou Harris, Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs and Dwight Yoakam Also Honored

Kenny Chesney has been chosen to receive the Academy of Country Music's Crystal Milestone Award. The honor celebrates his incredible touring success, with more than 10.5 million tickets sold on his 11 national tours. Chesney will also be recognized for helping other country artists and crossover artists gain national exposure.

The prestigious award is one of many non-televised honors announced by the ACM on Wednesday morning (March 21).

Emmylou Harris, producer Billy Sherrill, Ricky Skaggs and Dwight Yoakam will receive the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award to honor their contributions to country music history. In addition, Vince Gill will accept the Career Achievement Award for his work advancing the genre in the previous calendar year, while Alan Jackson will be recognized with the Jim Reeves International Award for expanding country music's reach around the world.

In addition, songwriters Bobby Braddock and the late Roger Miller have been announced as winners of the Poet's Award, while Dallas Davidson earned the songwriter of the year award. Gayle Holcomb of William Morris Endeavor Entertainment will receive the Mae Boren Axton Award in recognition of her dedication to the Academy.

The ACM also announced the following winners for their industry and musician awards.

Casino: Mandalay Bay Hotel & Casino, Las Vegas

Don Romeo Talent Buyer: Jimmy Jay, Jayson Promotions Inc.

Nightclub: Billy Bob's Texas, Fort Worth, Texas

Promoter: Brian O'Connell, Live Nation

Venue: Bridgestone Arena, Nashville

Producer: Frank Liddell

Audio Engineer: Justin Niebank

Bass Player: Michael Rhodes

Percussionist/Drummer: Shannon Forrest

Guitarist: Kenny Greenberg

Fiddle Player: Stuart Duncan

Piano/Keyboard Player: John Hobbs

Specialty Instrument Player: Aubrey Haynie

Steel Guitar Player: Paul Franklin

The ACM Awards will air live from Las Vegas on April 1 on CBS. The special awards announced Wednesday will be presented on Sept. 24 during the sixth annual ACM Honors event in Nashville.

Latest News