Miranda Lambert's Collection of Songs and Songwriters

The 24 Behind 'The Weight of These Wings'

When you’re Miranda Lambert, and you decide to make a double album packed with 24 songs, the world is kind of your oyster when it comes to songwriters.

Lambert probably could have knocked out all 24 songs by herself, honestly, or gone on a few writer’s retreats with her usual tight-knit handful of hitmakers. But she didn’t.

She in fact opened her mind and her door to, semi-ironically, 24 songwriters.

And the result is The Weight of These Wings, due out Nov. 18, which is possibly going to be the best showcase of songwriting talent from all over the world.

Natalie Hemby, one of Lambert’s longtime collaborators, is credited with ten of the tunes. That makes her a close second to Lambert, who wrote or co-wrote 20 of the album’s tracks.

Kentucky-born (but Nashville-based) newcomer Aaron Raitiere has three songs, as does Lambert’s pal from The Voice, Gwen Sebastian.

Other names appearing on the album's long list of credits include Nashville veteran Liz Rose, Lambert’s boyfriend Anderson East, a Texan who was almost a minister Waylon Payne and good friend Ashley Monroe, who all have two each.

More songwriters who either worked with Lambert or wrote songs she deemed worthy of covering are Ireland’s Foy Vance, Texas fixture Shake Russell, MBA-educated Mando Saenz, one of Nashville’s rising rural storytellers, BreNt Cobb and Danny O’Keefe, who has written songs for everyone from Elvis Presley and John Denver to Jackson Browne and Alan Jackson.

Only one song from the two albums -- "The Nerve" and "The Heart" -- was written by Lambert alone. It's called "We Should Be Friends."

Latest News