ACM Announces Special Award Recipients

Jason Aldean, Lady Antebellum, Blake Shelton Among Winners

Jason Aldean, Lady Antebellum and Blake Shelton are among the recipients of off-camera Academy of Country Music Awards announced by the organization on Friday (March 22).

Aldean will receive the Crystal Milestone Award to recognize his touring achievements in 2012. Shelton will accept the Gene Weed Special Achievement Award for bringing attention to country music through NBC's The Voice. Lady Antebellum will be honored with the Jim Reeves International Award for spreading country music throughout the world.

In addition, the Judds and Keith Whitley have been chosen for the Cliffie Stone Pioneer Award. Guy Clark and Hank Williams have been named as recipients of the Poet's Award for their career achievements in songwriting. Tommy Wiggins, who was actively involved in the record and radio industries during the '60s, will receive the Mae Boren Axton Award in recognition of co-founding the organization that is now the Academy of Country Music.

Other off-camera winners include:

Casino: Red Rock Casino & Resort (Las Vegas)

Nightclub: Joe's Bar (Chicago)

Venue: Ryman Auditorium (Nashville)

Don Romeo Talent Buyer: Jerry Hufford (Buck Owens' Crystal Palace)

Promoter: Ed Warm (Joe's Bar)

Producer: Jay Joyce

Audio engineer: Chuck Ainlay

Bass player: Jimmie Lee Sloas

Percussionist/drummer: Matt Chamberlain

Fiddle player: Aubrey Haynie

Guitarist: J.T. Corenflos

Piano/keyboard player: Michael Rojas

Specialty instrument player: Ilya Toshinsky

Steel guitar player: Mike Johnson

Songwriter: Dallas Davidson

These honorees will be formally recognized at the ACM Honors event on Sept. 10 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Meanwhile, the ACM Awards will be held April 7 at the MGM Grand Garden in Las Vegas. The ceremony will air live on CBS.

Latest News