Brad Paisley, Sugarland, Director Shaun Silva Lead CMT Music Award Nominations

First-Time Nominee Billy Ray Cyrus Will Host Show With Daughter Miley Cyrus

Brad Paisley's "Online" and Sugarland's "Stay" each received four nominations for the 2008 CMT Music Awards, which will be held April 14 in Nashville. Video director Shaun Silva also earned four nominations. More than 2 million votes were cast for the finalists which were revealed Thursday morning (March 6). Fans can now vote through April 11 to determine the winners.

Videos by Trace Adkins, Kenny Chesney, Kellie Pickler, Rascal Flatts, LeAnn Rimes, Taylor Swift and Carrie Underwood landed three nominations each. Billy Ray Cyrus secured his first CMT Music Awards nod as "Ready, Set, Don't Go" landed in the tearjerker video category. Billy Ray Cyrus and daughter Miley Cyrus will co-host the show.

Paisley's over-the-top video for "Online" features cameos by Jason Alexander, Estelle Harris, Maureen McCormick and William Shatner and ranked No. 1 on CMT Top 20 Countdown's year-end list. It is nominated for video of the year, as well as male video and comedy video. Alexander, who played George Costanza on Seinfeld, is also up for supporting character.

On the other end of the spectrum, Sugarland's "Stay" -- a very simple, emotional video featuring a tearful Jennifer Nettles -- was the most-viewed video on in 2008. It earned nominations for video of the year, as well as duo video and tearjerker video. A live rendition of the song from last year's CMT Music Awards is nominated for performance of the year.

As one of the most in-demand video directors in Nashville, Silva grabbed nominations for director of the year, as well as nominations for directing three of the videos up for video of the year -- Kenny Chensey's "Don't Blink," Rascal Flatts' "Take Me There" and Sugarland's "Stay."

Eight videos will initially compete for video of the year, but the final nominees will be revealed at the beginning of the telecast, with final voting at and on mobile phones during the show. In addition to the previously mentioned titles, other preliminary nominees for video of the year are Adkins' "I Got My Game On," Toby Keith's "High Maintenance Woman" and Keith Urban's "I Told You So."

Double nominees are Bon Jovi, Toby Keith, Reba McEntire and Kelly Clarkson, and Tim McGraw. Other nominees include Dierks Bentley, Big & Rich, Garth Brooks and Huey Lewis, Brooks & Dunn, Luke Bryan, Bucky Covington, the Eagles, Faith Hill, Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Little Big Town, Martina McBride, Montgomery Gentry, Willie Nelson, Robert Plant and Alison Krauss, Blake Shelton and Chuck Wicks.

The 2008 CMT Music Awards show will be telecast live from The Curb Event Center at Belmont University in Nashville.

View the list of nominees.

Latest News